Search
Close this search box.

VIDEO: MDGA 2023 – SB 73 Hearing – Judicial Proceedings (2.1.2023)

On 2.1.2023 – LBS testified in support of Senate Bill 73 – Removing criminal penalties for the possession of cannabis and possession with the intent to distribute.

Removing criminal penalties for the possession of cannabis and possession with the intent to distribute.

The issue:
With the voters of Maryland voting to legalize recreational cannabis in the November 2022 General Election, people should not have to worry about being incarcerated for cannabis related offenses. But existing criminal penalties for possession above the 2.5oz civil possession amount and for possession with intent to distribute still present Marylanders with the possibility of being exposed to the criminal justice system as a result of cannabis.


What does the legislation do?
Given the history of law enforcement disproportionately charging Black people with these offenses, leaving these criminal penalties intact will only extend Black people’s exposure to incarceration. This bill removes criminal penalties for possession of cannabis, above the civil limit, and removes criminal penalties for possession with intent to distribute.

Bill Information

Important Dates

Previous Hearings

Bill Sponsors

Senator Jill Carter

District 41
Baltimore City
Democrat
(410) 841-3697
jill.carter@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Debra Davis

District 28
Charles County
Democrat
410-841-3337
Debra.Davis@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Take Action

Committee Chairs

Senate Judicial Proceedings

Senator Will Smith

District 20
Montgomery County
Democrat
410-841-3634
will.smith@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Jeff Waldstreicher

District 18
Montgomery County
Democrat
410-841-3137
jeff.waldstreicher@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

House Judiciary

Delegate Luke Clippinger

District 46
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3303
luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitter

Email Now

Delegate David Moon

District 20
Montgomery County
Democrat
410-841-3474
David.Moon@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitter

Email Now

Like this post? Share on Social Media