Search
Close this search box.

Protect our Youth – Tell Senators to STRIKE the juvenile justice bill

The issue

Democratic Party leadership has introduced a bill (HB 814 SB 744) that severely limits opportunities to divert young people from the crimixnal justice system. The legislature appears to have yielded to pressure from Fox 45, Sinclair Broadcasting, police, and prosecutors, advocating for a return to failed law enforcement and incarceration-centric approaches to public safety.

Unfortunately, there hasn’t been sufficient investment in front-end systems to prevent youth from entering the criminal justice system.

Take Action Now

Let state legislators hear your voice!

YOU make the difference between this legislation passing or not. We need you to email contact legislators so that they will support the community’s demands.

In other words - contacting your elected officials make a HUGE difference.

Fill out the form and hit "Send" to demand that the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee reject juvenile incarceration.

Email the
Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee

Contact members of the Committee

You can also call, email and tag committee members on social media to tell them to STRIKE the bill.

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee

Chair

Senator Will Smith

District 20
Montgomery County
Democrat
410-841-3634
will.smith@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Vice-Chair

Senator Jeff Waldstreicher

District 18
Montgomery County
Democrat
410-841-3137
jeff.waldstreicher@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Members (sorted by last name)

Senator Jill Carter

District 41
Baltimore City
Democrat
(410) 841-3697
jill.carter@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Nick Charles

District 25
Prince George's
Democrat
410-841-3127
nick.charles@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator William Folden

District 4
Frederick
Republican
410-841-3704
william.folden@senate.state.md.us
TwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Mary-Dulany James

District 34
Harford County
Democrat
410-841-3158
marydulany.james@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitter

Email Now

Senator Ariana B. Kelly

District 16
Montgomery
Democrat
410-841-3124
ariana.kelly@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Mike McKay

District 1
Garrett, Allegany, and Washington
Republican
410-841-3565
mike.mckay@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator C. Anthony Muse

District 26
Prince George's
Democrat
410-841-3092
anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Charles Sydnor III

District 44
Baltimore City & County
Democrat
(410) 841-3612
charles.sydnor@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Chris West

District 42
Baltimore County
Republican
410-841-3648
chris.west@senate.state.md.us
Facebook

Email Now

Like this post? Share on Social Media