Search
Close this search box.

Funding Reparations: Amend SB 516 to increase tax revenue to reinvestment fund

The issue

The bill regulating Maryland’s recreational cannabis industry is currently being considered by the state legislature with HB 556 / SB 516

Maryland should raise the tax rate to 15% and increasing the annual percentage of tax revenue going to the Cannabis Repair and Reinvestment Fund from 30% to 60%. The will ensure that more money is allocated to repair the harm done by the “War on Drugs”.

Take Action Now

Let state legislators hear your voice!

YOU make the difference between this legislation passing or not. We need you to email contact legislators so that they will support the community’s demands..

In other words - contacting your elected officials make a HUGE difference.

Fill out the form and hit "Send" to demand that the Senate Finance Committee amend SB 516 to include the changes tax revenues from cannabis.

Email the
Senate Finance Committee

Contact members of the Committee

You can also call, email and tag committee members on social media to tell them to amend SB 516.

Senate Finance Committee

Chair

Vice-Chair

Senator Melony Griffith

District 25
Prince George’s County
Democrat
410-841-3127
Melony.Griffith@senate.state.md.us
Facebook

Email Now

Senator Katherine Klausmeier

District 8
Baltimore County
Democrat
410-841-3620
Katherine.Klausmeier@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Members (sorted by last name)

Senator Pamela Beidle

District 32
Anne Arundel County
Democrat
410-841-3593
Pamela.Beidle@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Arthur Ellis

District 28
Charles County
Democrat
410-841-3616
Arthur.Ellis@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Dawn Gile

District 33
Anne Arundel County
Democrat
410-841-3568
Dawn.Gile@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Antonio Hayes

District 40
Baltimore City
Democrat
(410) 841 3656
antonio.hayes@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Stephen Hershey

District 36
Kent, Queen Anne's, Cecil, and Caroline
Republican
410-841-3639
Stephen.Hershey@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Ben Kramer

District 19
Montgomery County
Democrat
410-841-3151
Ben.Kramer@senate.state.md.us

Email Now

Senator Clarence Lam

District 12
Anne Arundel and Howard County
Democrat
410-841-3653
Clarence.Lam@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitter

Email Now

Senator Johnny Mautz

District 27
Caroline, Dorchester, Talbot, and Wicomico
Republican
410-841-3590
Johnny.Mautz@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Senator Justin Ready

District 5
Frederick and Carroll
Republican
410-841-3683
Justin.Ready@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Want to stay informed on our upcoming legislation?

Use the LBS Bill Tracker! The page will be updated daily with information on how YOU can take action and support legislation that benefits OUR community!

Like this post? Share on Social Media