ACTION ALERT: Urge the JPR Committee to VOTE ‘Yes’ on SB 627 & SB 178

Feb 11

UPDATE: February 19, 2021

We watched the voting session for our bill SB 627 (LEOBR Repeal) on 2/18/21. We were sorely disappointed that the committee entertained a lengthy amendment that gutted the bill.

Thankfully, Senator Jill P. Carter called it out.

Enough is enough.

We demand the JPR Committee vote on SB 627 – as is.

No weakening amendments from the police unions. No rewriting of LEOBR.

The bill MUST include language to enable community oversight. Anything short of this is a fail.

Please email/tweet the members of the committee NOW.

YOUR public pressure WORKS. 


UPDATE: February 18, 2021

On February 18th, SB 178 – Anton’s Law (MPIA reform) PASSED through the JPR Committee with no significant amendments.

Soon, the bill will make its way to the full floor of the MD Senate. We need your to contact YOUR state senator and Senate President Bill FergusonTell them to VOTE ‘YES’ SB 178 without amendments that water down its impact.

Senate President Bill Ferguson

Phone: (410) 841-3600

Email: bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us

Twitter/Instagram: @SenBillFerg

Find YOUR state senator mdelect.net

However SB 627 – Repeal of the Law Enforcement Bill of Rights has NOT passed through the JPR Committee yet. Up until they vote on this bill, please urge the committee to VOTE YES on SB 627 without amendments that water down it impact.


UPDATE: February 15, 2021

As of February 15th, our legislation has still not been passed through the JPR Committee.

The JPR Committee will have another voting session @ 6PM on our bills.

Up until they vote, please urge the committee to VOTE YES on SB 627 & SB 178 without amendments that water down their impact.


UPDATE: February 12, 2021

Our legislation has still not been passed through the JPR Committee. On February 12th, the JPR Committee will have its voting sessions at 10AM and 2PM our bills.

Email, call & tweet legislators.

Watch the voting session here at 10am & 2pm.

Tweet the Committee Members

Senator Twitter
Will Smith (Chair) @Willcsmithjr
Jeff Waldstreicher (Vice Chair) @jwaldstreicher
Jack Bailey @senatorjbailey
Jill P. Carter @jillpcarter
Robert Cassilly @CassillyforMD34
Shelly Hettleman @shellyhettleman
Michael Hough @senatorhough
Michael Jackson @MichaelFor27B
Susan Lee @SenatorSusanLee
Charles Sydnor @CharlesSydnor3d

————————–

At 4PM on February 11, 2021 the Judicial Proceedings Committee will have a voting session which will include:

SB 627 – Repeal of the Law Enforcement Bill of Rights

SB 178Anton’s Law (MPIA reform)

These bills are key to having real police accountability in Maryland. The police union and lobbyists are attempting to make changes that would water the legislation down.

Urge the committee to VOTE YES on SB 627 & SB 178 without amendments that water down their impact.

Email members of committee to express your support.

Committee Members:

Senator Email
Will Smith (Chair) will.smith@senate.state.md.us
Jeff Waldstreicher (Vice Chair) jeff.waldstreicher@senate.state.md.us
Jack Bailey jack.bailey@senate.state.md.us
Jill P. Carter jill.carter@senate.state.md.us
Robert Cassilly Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us
Shelly Hettleman shelly.hettleman@senate.state.md.us
Michael Hough michael.hough@senate.state.md.us
Michael Jackson michael.jackson@senate.state.md.us
Susan Lee susan.lee@senate.state.md.us
Charles Sydnor charles.sydnor@senate.state.md.us
Chris West chris.west@senate.state.md.us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive updates on our upcoming projects, events and activities.