ACTION ALERT: Tell Baltimore City representatives to support strengthening the Civilian Review Board

Mayor Brandon Scott’s administration has taken a position against Civilian Oversight due to their opposition to HB 991 /SB 441.

SB 441 would give the existing Civilian Review Board (CRB) the powers and responsibilities of the Police Accountability Boards that each jurisdiction are required to establish due to the passage of the Police Accountability Act of 2021.

SB 441 would also give the CRB greater levels of independence to actually hold law enforcement accountable, along with the resources necessary to carry this out.

The Scott Administration has articulated a position that would create a Police Accountability Board, which would be duplicative of the existing CRB, with the intention of eventually dissolving the CRB.

While the CRB lacks the full powers that would constitute true community oversight, it does have limited investigatory power and the ability to formally weigh in on allegations of police misconduct.

If the administration decides to go along with their plan of eventually dissolving the CRB, these powers would lost, moving Baltimore in the opposite direction of community oversight.

Take Action Now

Email YOUR Baltimore City Senators and Delegates. 

Tell them to 

SUPPORT SB 441 / HB 991

 

We want to to KEEP the Baltimore Civilian Review Board and empower it with more resources to hold law enforcement accountable.

Example Email / Phone Script

Greetings Senator/Delegate
My name is John Doe and I am a registered voter and resident of your district.

I am urging you to support SB 441 / HB 991 because it is essential that we empower Baltimore's Civilian Review Board with the resources to be more effective. We do not need need to create a new entity. Baltimore already has a civilian review board to hold law enforcement accountable.

Thank you for your consideration.
- John

Baltimore City Senators and Delegates

District 40

Senator Antonio Hayes

(410) 841 3656
antonio.hayes@senate.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Melissa Wells

410-841-3545
melissa.wells@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Marlon Amprey

410-841-3520
marlon.amprey@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Frank Conaway Jr.

410-841-3189
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

Email Now

District 41

Senator Jill Carter

(410) 841-3697
jill.carter@senate.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Dalya Attar

410-841-3268
dalya.attar@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Tony Bridges

410-841-3283
tony.bridges@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg

410-841-3297
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

Email Now

District 43

Senator Mary Washington

(410) 841-3145
mary.washington@senate.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Maggie McIntosh

410-323-4052
maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Regina T. Boyce

410-841-3476
regina.boyce@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Curt Anderson

410-323-4324
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

Email Now

District 44

Senator Charles Sydnor III

(410) 841-3612
charles.sydnor@senate.state.md.us

Email Now

District 44A

Delegate Roxane Prettyman

410-841-3801
roxane.prettyman@house.state.md.us

Email Now

District 45

Senator Cory McCray

(410) 841-3165
cory.mccray@senate.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Chanel Branch

410-841-3257
chanel.branch@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Talmadge Branch

410-563-4709
talmadge.branch@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Stephanie Smith

410-841-3486
stephanie.smith@house.state.md.us

Email Now

District 46

Senator Bill Ferguson

(410) 841-3600
bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Luke Clippinger

410-841-3303
luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Robbyn Lewis

410-841-3772
robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Brooke E. Lierman

410-841-3319
Brooke.Lierman@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Like this post? Share on Social Media