Search
Close this search box.

ACTION ALERT: Tell Baltimore City representatives to support strengthening the Civilian Review Board

Mayor Brandon Scott’s administration has taken a position against Civilian Oversight due to their opposition to HB 991 /SB 441.

SB 441 would give the existing Civilian Review Board (CRB) the powers and responsibilities of the Police Accountability Boards that each jurisdiction are required to establish due to the passage of the Police Accountability Act of 2021.

SB 441 would also give the CRB greater levels of independence to actually hold law enforcement accountable, along with the resources necessary to carry this out.

The Scott Administration has articulated a position that would create a Police Accountability Board, which would be duplicative of the existing CRB, with the intention of eventually dissolving the CRB.

While the CRB lacks the full powers that would constitute true community oversight, it does have limited investigatory power and the ability to formally weigh in on allegations of police misconduct.

If the administration decides to go along with their plan of eventually dissolving the CRB, these powers would lost, moving Baltimore in the opposite direction of community oversight.

Take Action Now

Email YOUR Baltimore City Senators and Delegates. 

Tell them to 

SUPPORT SB 441 / HB 991

 

We want to to KEEP the Baltimore Civilian Review Board and empower it with more resources to hold law enforcement accountable.

Example Email / Phone Script

Greetings Senator/Delegate
My name is John Doe and I am a registered voter and resident of your district.

I am urging you to support SB 441 / HB 991 because it is essential that we empower Baltimore's Civilian Review Board with the resources to be more effective. We do not need need to create a new entity. Baltimore already has a civilian review board to hold law enforcement accountable.

Thank you for your consideration.
- John

Baltimore City Legislators

District 40

Senator Antonio Hayes

District 40
Baltimore City
Democrat
(410) 841 3656
antonio.hayes@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Marlon Amprey

District 40
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3520
marlon.amprey@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Frank Conaway Jr.

District 40
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3189
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

Email Now

Delegate Melissa Wells

District 40
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3545
melissa.wells@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

District 41

Senator Jill Carter

District 41
Baltimore City
Democrat
(410) 841-3697
jill.carter@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Dalya Attar

District 41
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3268
dalya.attar@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Tony Bridges

District 41
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3283
tony.bridges@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg

District 41
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3297
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

District 43

Senator Mary Washington

District 43
Baltimore City
Democrat
(410) 841-3145
mary.washington@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

District 43A

Delegate Regina T. Boyce

District 43A
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3476
regina.boyce@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Elizabeth Embry

District 43A
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3638
elizabeth.embry@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

District 45

Senator Cory McCray

District 45
Baltimore City
Democrat
(410) 841-3165
cory.mccray@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Jackie Addison

District 45
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3257
Jackie.Addison@house.state.md.us
Instagram

Email Now

Delegate Stephanie Smith

District 45
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3486
stephanie.smith@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Caylin Young

District 45
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3429
caylin.young@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

District 46

Senator Bill Ferguson

District 46
Baltimore City
Democrat
(410) 841-3600
bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Luke Clippinger

District 46
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3303
luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitter

Email Now

Delegate Mark Edelson

District 46
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3319
Mark.Edelson@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Delegate Robbyn Lewis

District 46
Baltimore City
Democrat
410-841-3772
robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us
FacebookTwitterInstagram

Email Now

Like this post? Share on Social Media